D50 continued

A little while ago I posted some progress I made on a DJH 50 class chassis I was building, since then I’ve completed the chassis and assembled the bulk of the body leaving a few little detail parts and piping (really looking forward to this!!!) to complete. There were a few parts for the model I was not very keen on the main ones being the headlight, shunters step and smokebox door.

I was able to get some replacement parts that looked a lot nicer than the supplied parts from Casula Hobbies during my latest trip down to Canberra, those being a Classic brass shunters step, Ozzy brass loco headlight and a Kerroby models smoke box door handle. The original smoke box door handle I used previously on a 53 class kit never looked right, and when compared to the Data sheet it proved that I was right and it was under scale for the later versions of the loco but is fine for the earlier and flatter smoke box doors.

Comparison of the brass DJH part and the whitemetal Kerroby part

Comparison of the brass DJH part and the whitemetal Kerroby part


 The other two parts I replaced where a lot more fine and detailed than what came with the kit but other than that its not as noticeable a change as the smoke box door handle

front view showing replaced parts

front view showing replaced parts

another photo showing replaced parts

another photo showing replaced parts

Anyway now i guess I will need to get the motivation to do all the pipes and hand rails then fit a decoder and stay alive into the tender!

A

Leave a Reply

